The No. 1 Source for Breaking Music News

New posthumous Leonard Cohen album due out in November

on September 20, 2019, 9:16am

The first posthumous album from Leonard Cohen will see release this November.

Entitled Thanks For the Dance, the nine-track LP was spearheaded by the musician’s son, Adam Cohen, who took leftover sketches and poems from his father’s final opus, You Want it Darker, and fleshed them out with the assistance of all-star list of collaborators.

Leslie Feist contributes vocals to the album, while Beck plays both guitar and Jew’s harp. Other contributors include Damien Rice, The National’s Bryce Dessner, Daniel Lanois, and Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry.

“In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us,” Adam Cohen says of the album. “What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. ‘Leonard lives!’ they say, one after the other.”

Thanks For the Dance is due out on November 22nd. In anticipation, you can stream “The Goal” below.

Listen to “The Goal”:

Thanks For the Dance Artwork:

Leonard Cohen Thank You For the Dance artwork

Thanks For the Dance Tracklist:

01. Happens to the Heart
02. Moving On
03. The Night of Santiago
04. Thanks for the Dance
05. It’s Torn
06. The Goal
07. Puppets
08. The Hills
09. Listen to the Hummingbird