Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Nico Segal and Nate Fox detail new Intellexual project, share “Intlxl”: Stream

on April 01, 2019, 4:23pm

Last week, The Social Experiment members Nico Segal and Nate Fox teased a new project called Intellexual. Today, the two have offered more details on what they’ve been cooking up in the studio.

Intellexual is both the duo’s new band name and title of their debut album. The forthcoming LP, due to hit stores April 12th, spans a total of 11 songs, including titles like “Sing it Louder”, “Overthinking”, “Roxstar”, and “Friction”. Most were written “from scratch at a piano or guitar”, their details fleshed out before “going into the studio with a firm-footed plan, instead of piecing together scraps.” A press statement explained further:

“They built the songs up from these early demos, adding color in the form of euphoric horns, rippling pianos, handclaps, synthesizers and background vocals of various timbres. The result is an inventive, genre-bending album that erases the boundaries between hip-hop, soul, folk, R&B, indie-pop and dreamy atmospherics — a headphones record and a party record in one, both communal and personal in scope.

(Read: The 10 Most Anticipated Hip-Hop Albums of 2019)

As we previously noted, Segal and Fox were assisted by a long list of friends and colleagues, many from their Chicago hometown. Among them: Francis Starlite of Francis and the LightsChuck InglishRauryRic Wilson, fellow Social Experimenter Peter Cottontale, and Segal’s Kids These Days band mate Vic Mensa.

As a first preview, the duo has shared a new song dubbed “Intlxl”. Take a listen below.

Intellexual Artwork:

intellexual debut album artwork cover

Intellexual Tracklist:
01. Popstar
02. Sing It Louder
03. Money
04. Call You
05. Overthinking
06. Boca
07. Roxstar
08. Friction
09. Like I Feel
10. Over the Hill