Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

AURORA announces new album, shares “The Seed”: Stream

on April 05, 2019, 3:29pm

Norwegian synthpop artist AURORA is prepping her third album for release on June 7th via Glassnote Records. Dubbed A Different Kind of Human (Step II), it serves as the complementary installment to last year’s surprise record,  Infections of A Different Kind (Step I).

Though still part of the Different Kind series, Step II finds AURORA traversing more experimental territory. The location where the LP was recorded helped to inform this new, unconventional sound; the artist set up shop “in a more lo-fi space than before,” one described as a French chateau that’s “beautiful and dreamy” and “far away.”

(Read: Iceland Airwaves 2018 Photo Gallery: Blood Orange, Natalie Prass, AURORA)

Much of Step II is said to focus on the ecological crisis plaguing society. We hear this on the album’s latest single, “The Seed”, in which AURORA reflects on the toxic ways we treat nature and those around us.

“People say ‘live like you don’t care’ or ‘party like you don’t care’, but I like to care,” AURORA remarked. “I think people do, too, now more than ever, for example when Trump was elected people became more involved politically because they were frustrated. It’s a time of open ears and open eyes”.

Check it out below.

A Different Kind of Human (Step II) Tracklist:
01. The River
02. Animal
03. Dance on the Moon
04. Daydreamer
05. Hunger
06. Soulless Creatures
07. In Bottles
08. A Different Kind of Human
09. Apple Tree
10. The Seed
11. Mothership