Music Videos
The latest visual candy from your favorite artists

Christina Aguilera announces new album, Liberation, shares Kanye West-produced “Accelerate”: Stream

on May 03, 2018, 11:24am

Christina Aguilera has finally announced her first album in six years, and it features everyone’s favorite Trump-loving rapper, Kanye West. The LP is titled Liberation and slated for a June 15th release date through RCA Records.

The follow-up to 2012’s Lotus is said to be a “hip-hop-inspired return to music” for Aguilera, according to a profile in Billboard. As such, Kanye produced two of the 15 tracks, “Accelerate”(featuring Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz) and “Maria”, which interpolates the eponymous Sound of Music song and samples Michael Jackson.

(Read: The 100 Greatest Singers of All Time)

Aguilera and Kanye worked together at Rick Rubin’s Shangri La studios prior to the release of The Life of PabloAlthough they got along and talked “forever” during those sessions, they eventually grew apart around the time Kanye had to be hospitalized in late 2016.

“To me, there’s nothing like an amazing hip-hop beat,” Aguilera told Billboard. “At the end of the day, I am a soul singer,” she added. “When you strip back the words ‘pop star’ and the many things that I’ve done, singing soulfully is where my core, my root and my heart really is. And as you can see, it’s what I’m inspired by.”

Anderson .Paak also worked on two songs on the album, while Demi Lovato, Julia Michaels, and Mike Dean contributed in various capacities.

To coincide with the LP news, Aguilera has shared lead single “Accelerate” and its Zoey Grossman-helmed music video.

Liberation Artwork:

aguilera liberation artwork Christina Aguilera announces new album, Liberation, shares Kanye West produced Accelerate: Stream

Liberation Tracklist:
01. Liberation
02. Searching for Maria
03. Maria
04. Sick of Sittin’
05. Dreamers
06. Fall in Line (feat. Demi Lovato)
07. Right Moves (feat. Keida & Shenseea)
08. Like I Do
09. Deserve
10. Twice
11. I Don’t Need It Anymore (interlude)
12. Accelerate (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & 2 Chainz)
13. Pipe
14. Masochist
15. Unless It’s With You

1 comment