Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Mount Eerie shares heartbreaking new album A Crow Looked at Me: Stream

on March 16, 2017, 11:32am

Photo by​ Allyson Foster

Phil Elverum will return with his latest album as Mount EerieA Crow Looked at Meon March 24th via his own P.W. Elverum & Sun label. Ahead of the release, the 11-track effort is streaming in full below via NPR.

A Crow Looked at Me is a devastatingly personal tribute to Elverum’s late wife, Geneviève Castrée, who died last summer from pancreatic cancer. Often, the songs speak directly to Castrée, as on “Ravens” when Elverum sings, “I watched you die in this room, then I gave your clothes away/ I’m sorry, I had to.” Though lead single and opening track “Real Death” begins with the lines, “Death is real/ Someone’s there and then they’re not/ And it’s not for singing about/ It’s not for making into art,” Elverum has produced perhaps his most intimate and powerful artistic expression yet.

A Crow Looked at Me stands as a remarkable example of the restorative power of music,” David Sackllah wrote in his review of the record, “an intimate display of love, daring both in concept and execution. Overwhelming and humbling, Elverum’s revelatory work offers a blueprint for others going through similar situations in their own lives, a true testament to the power of art and a loving tribute to Geneviève.”

A Crow Looked at Me Artwork:

unnamed 23 Mount Eerie shares heartbreaking new album A Crow Looked at Me: Stream

A Crow Looked at Me Tracklist:
01. Real Death
02. Seaweed
03. Ravens
04. Forest Fire
05. Swims
06. My Chasm
07. When I Take Out The Garbage At Night
08. Emptiness pt. 2
09. Toothbrush/Trash
10. Soria Moria
11. Crow