Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Michelle Branch returns with new single “Hopeless Romantic”, produced by The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney — listen

on February 03, 2017, 12:15pm

On April 7th, Michelle Branch is set to return with her first album in 14 years, Hopeless Romantic. The 14-track collection is the follow-up to 2003’s Grammy-nominated Hotel Paper and marks her third overall.

Hopeless Romantic was co-written and co-produced by The Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney, whom Branch also happens to be dating. Gus Seyffert (Beck, Sia) provided additional production, and both Morgan Kibby, previously of M83, and Atlas Genius’ Keith Jeffery have songwriting credits.

“A lot of these songs are about heartbreak, but knowing that it doesn’t mean the end of the world,” Branch explains in a press release. “It just means letting go and moving on and knowing that you’re going to be okay. This is my first real-life autobiographical record.” Last month, Branch previewed a number of these tracks at an intimate show in New York, where she was backed not only by Carney but also fellow couple Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley of Tennis.

The title track, released today, serves as the album’s lead single. As promised, the song has rock ‘n’ roll vibes — a smokier and slightly edgier sound, perhaps a result of Carney’s bluesy Black Keys time spent in Nashville. Stream it down below.

Hopeless Romantic Tracklist:
01. Best You Ever
02. You’re Good
03. Fault Line
04. Heartbreak Now
05. Hopeless Romantic
06. Living a Lie
07. Knock Yourself Out
08. Temporary Feeling
09. Carry Me Home
10. Not A Love Song
11. Last Night
12. Bad Side
13. Shadow
14. City

1 comment