Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream Bon Iver’s new album 22, A Million

on September 30, 2016, 12:00am

Today, Justin Vernon returns with a new album as Bon Iver. Entitled 22, A Million, it serves as the project’s third LP to date following 2007’s For Emma, Forever Ago and 2011’s self-titled release.

As a press release notes, “22, A Million is part love letter, part final resting place of two decades of searching for self-understanding like a religion. And the inner-resolution of maybe never finding that understanding. The album’s 10 poly-fi recordings are a collection of sacred moments, love’s torment and salvation, contexts of intense memories, signs that you can pin meaning onto or disregard as coincidence. If Bon Iver, Bon Iver built a habitat rooted in physical spaces, then 22, A Million is the letting go of that attachment to a place.”

(Read: Justin Vernon in 10 Songs)

The bulk of the album was recorded and produced at April Base Studios in Fall Creek, Wisconsin with pieces recorded in London, England and just outside Lisbon, Portugal. Collaborators included Colin Stetson, S. Carey, Poliça’s Ryan Olson, and Richard Buckner.

“Familiarity is often challenged on 22, A Million, bestowed on the listener to make Bon Iver’s current form a palatable transition, but not so much so that the record loses its central challenge,” writes Philip Cosores in his A- review of the album.

22, A Million Tracklist:
01. 22(OVER S∞∞N)
02. 10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⊠ ⊠
03. 715 – CRΣΣKS
04. 33 “GOD”
05. 29 #Strafford APTS
06. 666 ʇ
07. 21 M♢♢N WATER
08. 8(circle)
09. ____45____
10. 00000 Million