Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Bob Weir and members of The National join forces on “Only a River” — listen

on August 18, 2016, 1:27pm

Due out next month, Blue Mountain is the forthcoming full-length album from former Grateful Dead member Bob Weir. The 12-track solo effort marks his first release in a decade, but perhaps more importantly, it’s Weir’s first LP comprised of entirely new material in 30 years (!).

As a preview, Weir has shared opening track “Only a River” today. Clocking in well over five minutes, the lead single is a mellow, rolling cut. It was written with the help of Josh Ritter and features guitar and bass/vocals from The National’s Aaron Dessner and Scott Devendorf, respectively. If you’ll recall, The National curated a huge Grateful Dead tribute album earlier this year.

Stream it below courtesy of NPR.com.

Blue Mountain officially lands in stores on September 30th. It also features songwriting from Josh Ritter.

Blue Mountain Tracklist:
01. Only a River
02. Cottonwood Lullaby
03. Gonesville
04. Lay My Lily Down
05. Gallop on the Run
06. Whatever Happened to Rose
07. Ghost Town
08. Darkest Hour
09. Ki-Yi Bossie
10. Storm Country
11. Blue Mountain
12. One More River To Cross