New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Nite Jewel announces new album, Liquid Cool, shares “Boo Hoo” — listen

on April 05, 2016, 5:05pm

Photo by Jose Wolff

Later this spring, synthpop songwriter Ramona Gonzalez will return with her third album as Nite Jewel. Dubbed Liquid Cool, the nine-track collection follows 2012’s One Second of Love and 2009’s Good Evening.

Due to hit shelves through Gonzalez’s own Gloriette imprint, it’s said to explore “the theme of aloneness in a crowded and disconnected world,” according to a press release. “I put all my gear — including my 8 track — in a walk-in closet,” she says of the recording process. “I had left my label and was back in my element. I felt like I had found my identity again.”

Ahead of the LP’s June 10th release date, Gonzalez has revealed lead single “Boo Hoo”. Despite its tearful title, the song itself is a pulsing, late-night jam.

Stream it below.

While it’s been five years since her last full-length, Gonzalez has worked on collaborations with Bay Area rapper Droop-E, Linda Perhacs and Julia Holter, as well as put out the 2015 standalone single “Infinity”.

Liquid Cool Artwork:

nite jewel liquid cool album new Nite Jewel announces new album, Liquid Cool, shares Boo Hoo    listen

Liquid Cool Tracklist:
01. Nothing but Scenery
02. Was That a Sign
03. You Now
04. Kiss the Screen
05. Over the Weekend
06. Boo Hoo
07. I Mean It
08. Running Out Of Time
09. All My Life