New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Tim Hecker shares chilling new song “Castrati Stack” — listen

on February 19, 2016, 3:25pm

Photo by Todd Cole

Tim Hecker parlayed the success of his 2013 album Virgins into a record deal with the esteemed 4AD imprint (The National, Purity Ring). Come April 8th, the experimental producer will put out his first full-length on the label. It’s titled Love Streams and collects 11 new tracks.

Virgins collaborators Kara-Lis Coverdale and Grímur Helgason guest on the forthcoming LP. It also includes contributions from the Icelandic Choir Ensemble and Jóhann Jóhannsson, the Oscar-nominated composer behind the score for The Theory of Everything. It was recorded over the course of two years in Reykjavik at the local Greenhouse Studios.

(Read: Organizing Sound with Tim Hecker)

In a statement, Hecker says he ruminated over concepts like “liturgical aesthetics after Yeezus” and the“transcendental voice in the age of auto-tune” during Love Streams’ creation. A press release further describes:

“…the album was assembled gradually, with layers of studio-tracked keyboards, choir and woodwinds being woven into the mix, then molded and disfigured through complex programming. The effect is similar to hearing some ancient strain of sacred music corrupted by encryption.”

As a first teaser of the record, Hecker has revealed “Castrati Stack”, a composition that plays out like nightmarish church music. Stream it below.

Love Streams Artwork:

tim hecker love streams album 4ad Tim Hecker shares chilling new song Castrati Stack    listen

Love Streams Tracklist:
01. Obsidian Counterpoint
02. Music of the Air
03. Bijie Dream
04. Live Leak Instrumental
05. Violet Monumental I
06. Violet Monumental II
07. Up Red Bull Creek
08. Castrati Stack
09. Voice Crack
10. Collapse Sonata
11. Black Phase

1 comment