Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Disney confirms cast for Star Wars: Episode VIII, principal photography begins today

on February 15, 2016, 9:28am

Today director Rian Johnson begins principal photography on Star Wars: Episode VIII, and with it comes a formal cast announcement from Disney/Lucasfilm.

Episode VIII “continues the storylines introduced in Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” and thus features the return of Daisy Ridley (Rey), John Boyega (Finn), Oscar Isaac (Poe Dameron), Lupita Nyong’o (Maz Kanata), Adam Driver (Kylo Ren), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Carrie Fisher (General Leia Organa), Andy Serkis (Supreme Leader Snoke), Domhnall Gleeson (General Hux), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), and Gwendoline Christie (Captain Phasma).

Newcomers to the cast include Benicio Del Toro, Laura Dern, and Kelly Marie Tran in undisclosed roles.

Along with revealing the cast, Disney has also shared a brief teaser from the first day of filming:

Star Wars: Episode VIII is scheduled to hit theaters on December 15th, 2017. It will be preceded on December 16th, 2016 by the standalone film Star Wars: Rogue One.