Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

2016 Independent Spirit Awards Winners: Spotlight, Tangerine, and Beasts of No Nation

on February 27, 2016, 8:11pm

On Saturday evening, the 2016 Independent Spirit Awards took place beachside in Santa Monica, California. Now in its 31st year, the ceremony was hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Kate McKinnon and Silicon Valley’s Kumail Nanjiani.

Spotlight conquered the ceremony, winning every one of its nominations, specifically: Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Editing, and even the Robert Altman Award.

Beasts of No Nation stars Idris Elba and Abraham Attah won for Best Supporting Male and Best Male Lead, respectively, while Brie Larson once again snatched Best Female Lead for Room.

The real victory of the night, however, was Tangerine’s Mya Taylor for Best Supporting Female, making her the first transgender actress to ever win at the ceremony.

“There is transgender talent,” Taylor explained upon receiving her award. “There’s very beautiful transgender talent. So, you better get it out there and put it in your next movie.”

A few other highlights included The Look of Silence for Best Documentary and Son of Saul for Best International Film.

Consult the full list below.

Best Feature:
Beasts of No Nation

Best Director:
Charlie Kaufman & Duke Johnson, Anomalisa
Cary Joji Fukunaga, Beasts of No Nation
Todd Haynes, Carol
David Robert Mitchell, It Follows
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight
Sean Baker, Tangerine

Best Female Lead:
Cate Blanchett, Carol
Rooney Mara, Carol
Bel Powley, The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Brie Larson, Room
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Tangerine

Best Male Lead:
Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation
Jason Segel, The End of the Tour
Christopher Abbott, James White
Koudous Seihon, Mediterranea
Ben Mendelsohn, Mississippi Grind

Best Supporting Female:
Jennifer Jason Leigh, Anomalisa
Marin Ireland, Glass Chin
Robin Bartlett, H.
Cynthia Nixon, James White
Mya Taylor, Tangerine

Best Supporting Male:
Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation
Richard Jenkins, Bone Tomahawk
Paul Dano, Love & Mercy
Kevin Corrigan, Results
Michael Shannon, 99 Homes

Best Screenplay:
Bone Tomahawk
The End of the Tour

Best First Feature:
The Diary of a Teenage Girl
James White
Manos Sucas
Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best First Screenplay:
The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
The Mend

Best Editing:
Heaven Knows What
It Follows
Manos Sucias

Best Cinematography:
Beasts of No Nation
It Follows
Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best Documentary:
Best of Enemies
Heart of a Dog
The Look of Silence
The Russian Woodpecker

Best International Film:
Embrace of the Serpent
A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence
Son of Saul

John Cassavetes Award:
Christmas, Again
Heaven Knows What
Out of My Hand

Robert Altman Award