New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Sunflower Bean announce debut album, share lead single “Wall Watcher” — listen

on November 12, 2015, 12:45pm

As a band, Sunflower Bean have grown exceptionally fast. On the heels of strong live shows around their Brooklyn hometown and festivals like CMJ, the three-piece dropped an EP earlier this year. Since then, they’ve nailed down tours with the likes of Wolf Alice, DIIV, Best Coast, and others, leading to a staggering 100 performances in the span of just one year. That’s a lot for a fresh outfit, and it doesn’t look like they’ll be slowing down in 2016, as they’ve just announced their debut album, Human Ceremony.

Recorded in just seven days (told you they were speedy), Human Ceremony is set for a February 5th release via Fat Possum. The album sees them refining their psych rock ways into something with a bit more of a fuzzy pop edge, with a press release referencing influences like The Cure, The Velvet Underground, and The Feelies. As a first listen to this finished product, the band has shared lead single “Wall Watcher”.

Guitars fade in and out, bending like a black hole pulling in metal riffs and spitting them out into a psychedelic universe on the other side. Over shimmying bass, Julia Cumming keeps her voice just shy of falsetto as she sings about youthful nostalgia with lines like, “What’s it like in your apartment/ When no one has called.” As the band told FADER, “‘Wall Watcher’ is about existing in a lonely world. We spent a lot of time and put a lot of love into writing and recording this album and are excited to share this first glimpse with you.”

Take a listen to the track below, followed by the complete Human Ceremony tracklist.

Human Ceremony Tracklist:
01. Human Ceremony
02. Come On
03. 2013
04. Easier Said
05. This Kind of Feeling
06. I Was Home
07. Creation Myth
08. Wall Watcher
09. I Want You To Give Me Enough Time
10. Oh, I Just Don’t Know
11. Space Exploration Disaster