New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Silver Lake Chorus premieres new song “Heavy Star Movin'”, written by The Flaming Lips

on April 27, 2015, 12:45pm

Photo by Lehua Noelle

The Silver Lake Chorus is no ordinary collective of choir types. Just ask Bon IverSiaDeath Cab for Cutie’s Ben GibbardAimee Mann, The New Pornographers, The Flaming Lips, and Tegan and Sara, who have all written original songs for the 25-piece Los Angeles group.

Those all-star compositions are set to appear on the Chorus’ self-titled debut album, due out on June 16th via Six Degrees Records. The long-in-the-works release follows the ensemble’s countless “choral arrangement” indie rock covers and a string of high-profile collaborations, including The Lonely Island’s “I Just Had Sex”, and the 2012’s Justin Vernon-penned Wreckage EP.

Produced by Ben Lee, the much anticipated LP is previewed today with “Heavy Star Movin'”, composed by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd of The Flaming Lips. Not unlike something plucked from the Lips’ expansive repertoire, the hauntingly beautiful track evokes a surreal, out-of-body experience, as though one’s consciousness is tumbling aimlessly through a color-splashed alternate universe.

“The track The Flaming Lips sent us had a really specific and transformative feel to it,” The Silver Lake Chorus tells Consequence of Sound. “They used a myriad of synths that made it feel vast and kind of trippy. When we arranged the song for the chorus, we took a chamber music approach instrument-wise while still shooting for that vast/trippy vibe. The Flaming Lips create such rich and intriguing sound worlds, and we were thrilled to take their lead and then make it our own.”

Listen to “Heavy Star Movin” below.

The Silver Lake Chorus Artwork:

The Silver Lake Chorus new album Bon Iver Sia Flaming Lips

The Silver Lake Chorus Tracklist:
01. From The Snow-Tipped Hills
02. Hold Up For
03. Break It down
04. Heavy Star Movin’
05. Same Song
06. Nervous Soul
07. Salted Wound
08. Overboard
09. Home Come Home
10. Wreckage
11. Easy To Die