New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Ezra Furman announces new album, Perpetual Motion People, shares “Lousy Connection” — listen

on April 27, 2015, 3:25pm

Ezra Furman has announced the title and release date of his forthcoming debut on Bella Union. Perpetual Motion People is the name of the 13-track effort due out July 10th. Already we’ve heard “Restless Year”, the opening track to the Day of the Dog follow-up, and now Furman has shared the second single, “Lousy Connection”.

Incidentally also the second song in the album’s sequencing, “Lousy Connection” again highlights the idiosyncratic Chicagoan-cum-San Franciscan’s era-dipping, genre-blending style. There’s a clear doo-wop drive in the “shoo-doo” background vocals and proud saxophone, but Furman’s crackling vocals and a string of pounded piano keys put it in a category all its own. Lyrically, the singer-songwriter explores the state of this hyper-fast, interconnected world (“This century seems like it’s turning out okay/ It’s like a game of worldwide karaoke”), as well as his place in it (“I’ve got the world’s ear, I’m all fucking mumbles/ I guess I’m just another link in a chain”). Take a listen below.

Perpetual Motion People Tracklist:
01. Restless Year
02. Lousy Connection
03. Hark! to the Music
04. Haunted Head
05. Hour Of Deepest Need
06. Wobbly
07. Ordinary Life
08. Tip of a Match
09. Body Was Made
10. Watch You Go By
11. Pot Holes
12. Can I Sleep In Your Brain?
13. One Day I Will Sin No More