New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Tanlines premiere new song “Invisible Ways” — listen

on March 30, 2015, 12:50pm

Electropop duo Tanlines will return with their new album, Highlights, on May 19th. Due out via Matador Records, the follow-up to 2012’s Mixed Emotions was produced by Patrick Ford and Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear. Already we’ve heard the new wave-leaning lead single “Slipping Away”. Now, the New York outfit has let loose “Invisible Ways”.

In a previous statement, Tanlines noted that the new LP would feature “sounds of 90’s New York hip-hop drums” and “lots and lots of guitars,” and they weren’t kidding. Whereas their past releases prominently featured sunny, bubble gum synthesizers,  the somber “Invisible Ways” relies solely on jangly guitar strums. Listen in below.

Highlights Tracklist:
01. Pieces
02. Slipping Away
03. Palace
04. Two Thousand Miles
05. Invisible Ways
06. Bad Situations
07. Running Still
08. Thinking
09. If You Stay
10. Darling Dreamer