New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Tanlines announce new album, Highlights, premiere “Slipping Away” — listen

on March 04, 2015, 11:05am

On May 19th, synthpop duo Tanlines will release their sophomore album, Highlights, through Matador Records. The follow-up to 2012’s Mixed Emotions spans 10 tracks and was produced by Patrick Ford (!!!) and Grizzly Bear’s Chris Taylor in Los Angeles and New York, respectively.

According to a press statement, the LP is “influenced by their time spent on the road touring in support of Mixed Emotions” and sees them reaching “for the sounds of 90’s New York hip-hop drums, Detroit techno synths, and lots and lots of guitars.” While the band is tempted to describe it as “an homage to the sonics of America,” it’s more “the album where things started making more sense.”

Our first preview of the LP comes with “Slipping Away”, an infectious, upbeat number that evokes “I Melt With You”-era new wave. Listen in below.

Highlights Artwork:

new Tanlines album Highlights

Highlights Tracklist:
01. Pieces
02. Slipping Away
03. Palace
04. Two Thousand Miles
05. Invisible Ways
06. Bad Situations
07. Running Still
08. Thinking
09. If You Stay
10. Darling Dreamer