New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Marriages announce debut album, premiere “Skin” — listen

on January 23, 2015, 2:25pm

Los Angeles experimental rock outfit Marriages is set to release its debut album Salome on April 7th via Sargent House. The follow-up to their 2012 Kitsune EP finds the trio shifting around the lineup, with Emma Ruth Rundle assuming a larger role as lead singer. The new material highlights Rundle — who made a name for herself with last year’s breathtaking solo debut Some Heavy Ocean — and her powerful voice, an emotive force that complements Marriages’ brooding arrangements.

Case in point: Lead single “Skin” is a gorgeously gloomy number, streaked with Rundle’s amorphous vocals (is that a whisper? a scream?) and propulsive guitars. At times, “Skin” feels like some kind of secret basement seance; at others, as though the sky is about to cave in in apocalyptic fashion. Listen in below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.


Salome Tracklist:
01. The Liar
02. Skin
03. Santa Sangre
04. Southern eye
05. Binge
06. Salome
07. Less Than
08. Love, Texas
09. Contender