New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Lower Dens announce new album, Escape From Evil, share “To Die in L.A.” — listen

on January 29, 2015, 10:55am

Baltimore experimental pop band Lower Dens has kept a relatively low profile since the release of Nootropics in 2012. But today, they’ve broken their silence and announced their third studio album, Escape From Evil.

Out March 31st via Ribbon Music, the album was produced by Dens’ lead singer Jana Hunter and co-produced and mixed by Chris Coady (The Antlers, Beach House, Future Islands). The LP also features collaborations from producers like Ariel Rechtshaid (Vampire Weekend, Sky Ferreira, Haim), John Congleton (Angel Olsen, St. Vincent, Cloud Nothings), and others.

As our first preview, lead single “To Die in L.A.” has been unveiled. Marked by brooding synths, a soaring chorus, and Hunter’s voice sounding crisp and invigorated, the track may be the band’s most accessible yet. Listen in below.

Escape From Evil Tracklist:
01. Sucker’s Shangri-La
02. Ondine
03. To Die in L.A.
04. Quo Vadis
05. Your Heart Still Beating
06. Electric Current
07. I Am the Earth
08. Non Grata
09. Company
10. Société Anonyme