Music Videos
The latest visual candy from your favorite artists

Courtney Barnett announces debut album, shares new song/video “Pedestrian At Best” — watch

on January 29, 2015, 3:35pm

Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett will release her debut album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit on March 24th through Mom + Pop Records.

The 11-track effort follows 2013’s excellent The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas. Recording took place at Melbourne’s Head Gap Studio with accompaniment from her backing band

Barnett says the album “follows me as a normal human with normal emotions. So there are great highs and great lows. They span everything in my life.”

A preview of this “life-spanning” collection comes in the form of lead single “Pedestrian at Best”. With a grungy riff recalling “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, Barnett makes some astute and hilarious observations about relationships, with biting witticisms (“I think you’re a joke but I don’t find you very funny”). Check out the song below via its accompanying video, in which Barnett plays a sad clown.

Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit Tracklist:
01. Elevator Operator
02. Pedestrian at Best
03. An Illustration of Loneliness (Sleepless in NY)
04. Small Poppies
05. Depreston
06. Aqua Profunda!
07. Dead Fox
08. Nobody Really Cares if You Don’t Go to the Party
09. Debbie Downer
10. Kim’s Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues