New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

She & Him set release date for Classics album, share Dusty Springfield cover

on October 24, 2014, 11:48am

Update: The duo have shared the album’s tracklsit and cover art. Classics includes standards like “Oh No, Not My Baby”, “Unchained Melody”, “We’ll Meet Again”, and “It’s Always You”, among others.

Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward (tka She & Him) have shared the release date for their latest album, Classics.  The 13-track collection of “carefully-selected, timeless standards” is due out December 2nd via Columbia Records. It’s the duo’s first album for the major label; their previous four albums, most recently last year’s Volume 3, came out via Merge Records.

As previously reported, the pair recorded the covers album live alongside a 20-piece orchestra, “allowing a spontaneity that captured the spirit of the songs in their truest forms.” As Deschanel explained, “It was a dream of ours to record these songs in a way that highlighted the brilliance of the songwriting and the beauty of their melodies.”

To accompany today’s announcement, She & Him have shared their cover of Dusty Springfield‘s classic single “Stay Awhile”. Here, Deschanel and Ward have totally re-imagined the love-sick ballad. What was once a more upbeat, slightly rock-inspired number has been re-imagined as a mournful country tune, complete with dusty orchestration and some especially heartbroken wailing from Deschanel. Still, sorrowful and contemplative is sort of this duo’s wheelhouse, and their penchant for pristine pain is amped to the Nth degree thanks to the orchestra.

The song is available at She & Him’s official website; just tune the radio widget to 1201 AM to hear it. Or listen in below.

Classics Tracklist:
01. Stars Fell On Alabama
02. Oh No, Not My Baby
03. It’s Not For Me To Say
04. Stay Awhile
05. This Girl’s In Love With You
06. Time After Time
07. She
08. Teach Me Tonight
09. It’s Always You
10. Unchained Melody (Feat. The Chapin Sisters)
11. I’ll Never Be Free
12. Would You Like To Take A Walk?
13. We’ll Meet Again

she and him classics She & Him set release date for Classics album, share Dusty Springfield cover