Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

She & Him cover Frank Sinatra’s “Time After Time” — listen

on October 30, 2014, 11:52am

She & Him — the duo of M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel — has unveiled another one of the 13 “carefully-selected, timeless standards” that comprise its latest album, Classics. Following a grand and ornate take on Dusty Springfield’s “Stay Awhile”, the duo turn its attention to “Time After Time”, the jazzy ballad made famous by Frank Sinatra. (Over the years, the likes of Alex Chilton, Chet Baker, and Shirley Bassey have also covered the tune.)

As they’ve proven with their remaining back catalog, Ward and Deschanel are masters at refurbishing the past, with old-timey trumpets and slow, skittish drums dug up from some pre-WWII gala and given a shiny update. Unlike past covers of the song, though, She & Him tackle the vocals as a team, their lush harmonic interplay enhancing the song’s inherent sense of breeziness and overall romantic vibes. Listen in below.

Classics is due out December 2nd via Columbia Records. ICYMI, watch the duo perform “Stay Awhile” on last night’s episode of The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

Classics Tracklist:
01. Stars Fell On Alabama
02. Oh No, Not My Baby
03. It’s Not For Me To Say
04. Stay Awhile
05. This Girl’s In Love With You
06. Time After Time
07. She
08. Teach Me Tonight
09. It’s Always You
10. Unchained Melody (Feat. The Chapin Sisters)
11. I’ll Never Be Free
12. Would You Like To Take A Walk?
13. We’ll Meet Again