Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Eels’ new album The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett

on April 15, 2014, 11:23am

Mark Oliver Everett will release his 11th studio album as Eels, entitled The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett, on April 22nd via Vagrant Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over at

The album spans 13 tracks and serves as the follow-up to last year’s Wonderful, Glorious. (It’s also Everett’s fifth record since 2009.) While its title invokes the sense of a solo album, it features contributions from longtime Eels members Koool G Murder, The Chet, P-Boo, and Knuckles, who were each involved in “performing, songwriting, and even arranging the album’s orchestral parts,” according to a press release.

The press release adds that Cautionary Tales is “an extraordinarily vivid and intimate document of a personal struggle”. As Everett explains, “It’s inspired by something I went though. Someone I lost, by choice, and later came to regret losing. It wasn’t until I started to look at my role in it that it began to feel like I was getting somewhere worthwhile. The experience transformed me. This is the musical version of that experience. I’m hoping it could maybe serve as some sort of example for others. To learn from my mistakes.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Mistakes Of My Youth”:

The standard LP will be accompanied by a bonus disc comprised of new cuts, unreleased material, and live session recordings from KCRW and WNYC. Consult both tracklists below.

The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett Tracklist:
01. Where I’m At
02. Parallels
03. Lockdown Hurricane
04. Agatha Chang
05. A Swallow in the Sun
06. Where I’m From
07. Series of Misunderstandings
08. Kindred Spirit
09. Gentleman’s Choice
10. Dead Reckoning
11. Answers
12. Mistakes of My Youth
13. Where I’m Going

Deluxe Edition Bonus Disc:
01. To Dig It
02. Lonely Lockdown Hurricane
03. Bow Out
04. A Good Deal
05. Good Morning Bright Eyes
06. Millicent Don’t Blame Yourself
07. Thanks I Guess
08. On The Ropes (LIVE WNYC)
09. Accident Prone (LIVE WNYC)
10. I’m Your Brave Little Soldier (LIVE WNYC)
11. Fresh Feeling (LIVE KCRW)
12. Trouble With Dreams (LIVE KCRW)
13. Oh Well (LIVE KCRW)