New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

PUJOL announces new album Kludge, streams “Pitch Black”

on March 03, 2014, 5:25pm

Though Daniel Pujol hails from Nashville, his band PUJOL ventures away from the crisp, golden country of his hometown towards more rollicking, punk-minded garage rock. After releasing his debut LP United States of Being in 2012, he’s officially announced the follow-up entitled Kludge.

Hitting stores on May 20th via Saddle Creek, the 11-track effort was produced by Doni Schroader (of …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead and Forget Cassettes). According to a press release, PUJOL wrote and recorded the songs at The Place in Mt. Juliet, Tennessee, “a suicide-prevention center for teens located in a strip mall.”

“Pitch Black”, the album’s lead single, showcases PUJOL’s rousing but laid-back sensibility, and hearkens back to Exile on Main St.-era Rolling Stones with its bluesy guitars and loud chorus. Pujol’s nasally croon perfectly suits the crunchy track and its memorable hooks and boozy swagger, making for a well-rounded slice of simple rock n’ roll. Take a listen below (via VICE).

KLUDGE Tracklist:
01. Judas Booth
02. Manufactured Crisis Control
03. Pitch Black
04. Circles
05. Dark Haired Suitor
06. Post Grad
07. Sacred Harp BFK
08. No Words
09. Spooky Scary
10. Small World
11. Youniverse