The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Out-of-print Dream Syndicate LP soon to be reissued, feature live tracks

on May 20, 2010, 9:45am

The out-of-print Medicine Show, the Dream Syndicate‘s classic sophomore album, is getting a well-deserved reissue 26 years after its recording and 21 years after its original CD release. According to Slicing Up Eyeballs, the reissue, out June 15th, will be combined with a reissue of the live EP This is Not the New Dream Syndicate Album……Live! This means you will now be able to find a copy of the classic college rock gem for less than $50 on Amazon.

The new copy of the album is remastered from very tape on which it was originally recorded and sold in a digipack. But why does the band’s second record get the special treatment? Dream Syndicate’s guitarist/vocalist Steve Wynn wrote on his website, “I’ve made over 20 studio albums in the last quarter century and Medicine Show sounds unlike any of the others… Not only does it not remind me of any of MY other records, I can’t even think of anything else that sounds quite like it. I still play most of the songs live on a regular basis but the record itself is beautiful, unattainable, right and wrong in all the best ways.”

Wynn hasn’t been skimping out lately when it comes to playing his old material. Last weekend he played both Medicine Show and The Days of Wine and Roses in full with The Miracle 3, the band he currently fronts, at 529 Club in Atlanta.

Check out the tracklist below, featuring the eight original tracks plus the five live recordings from the EP.

Medicine Show Reissue Tracklist:
01. Still Holding Onto You
02. Daddy’s Girl
03. Burn
04. Armed With An Empty Gun
05. Bullet With My Name On It
06. The Medicine Show
07. John Coltrane Stereo Blues
08. Merrittville
09. Tell Me When It’s Over *
10. Bullet With My Name On It *
11. Armed With An Empty Gun *
12. The Medicine Show *
13. John Coltrane Stereo Blues *

* = From This is Not the New Dream Syndicate Album……Live!