Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Weakerthans arrive on DVD

on February 12, 2010, 10:25am

With John K. Samson doing his solo thing, it seems as if The Weakerthans are going to be spending the winter and spring quietly playing as Jim Bryson’s solo band for his new album (oh, and touring Australia). But if you’re nostalgic for some more goodness from their previous four albums, then you can spend your spring time rehashing it all with the soon-to-be-released Live At The Burton Cummings Theatre CD/DVD.

Recorded during an April 2009 show in their home base of Winnipeg, Manitoba in support of 2007’s Reunion Tour, the 18-song package features artwork by bassist Greg Smith and also sports a bigger backing band, including female vocals and lots of string instruments. And judging from the tracklist, it seems like it’s a fairly retrospective look at the band’s unique sound.

If you’re lucky enough to live Down Under, catch the band this February. For the rest of us, Live At The Burton Cummings Theatre hits stores March 23rd via Anti- Records.

Live At The Burton Cummings Theatre Tracklist:
01. Everything Must Go
02. Tournament Of Hearts
03. Our Retired Explorer (Dines With Michel Foucault In Paris In 1969)
04. Night Windows
05. Reconstruction Site
06. Aside
07. Civil Twilight
08. Bigfoot
09. Plea From A Cat Named Virtute
10. The Reasons
11. Sun In An Empty Room
12. Left And Leaving
13. Wellington’s Wednesdays
14. Benediction
15. Manifest
16. One Great City!
17. This Is A Fire Door Never Leave Open
18. Virtute The Cat Explains Her Departure

The Weakerthans 2010 Tour Dates:
02/20 – Brisbane, AU @ RNA Showgrounds (Soundwave Festival)
02/21 – Sydney, AU @ Eastern Creek Raceway (Soundwave Festival)
02/23 – Sydney, AU @ The Annandale Hotel
02/25 – Melbourne, AU @ Northcote Social Club
02/26 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Showgrounds (Soundwave Festival)
02/27 – Adelaide, AU @ Bonython Park (Soundwave Festival)
03/01 – Perth, AU @ Steel Blue Oval (Soundwave Festival)

No comments