Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Titus Andronicus returns with new album, The Monitor

on December 14, 2009, 2:58pm

We’ve been on the Titus Andronicus bandwagon for sometime now, and rightfully so. The New Jersey natives’ debut, Airing of Grievances, proved to be one of our favorite albums of 2008, while their live performance also brought much delight. So, it’s quite exciting to report that the the band has already completed its second full-length and reveal it next March.

Titled The Monitor and due out on March 9th (via XL Recordings), the 10-track affair promises another round of lo-fi shoegaze excellence. But this time around, the theme will stick to one particular subject: the Civil War.

Per frontman Patrick Stickles:

“It doesn’t take place in olden times, nor does it necessarily feature any characters that participated in that conflict. Really, it is a record about how the conflicts that led our nation into that great calamity remain unresolved, and the effect that this ongoing division has on our personal relationships and our behavior and how they’re all out to get us (or maybe not?) and yadda yadda yadda.”

The album will once again feature the production talents of Kevin McMahon, who worked with the band on Airing of Grievances. Guests include members of The Hold Steady, Wye Oak, Ponytail, and Vivian Girls. As for other specifics? Well, The Monitor will feature some rather long songs, including the first single “Four Score and Seven”, which runs nine minutes.

Speaking of the single, it will be released as a double A-side 7″ on February 9th. Given its length, the song will be split into two parts so it’ll fit on the vinyl. You can stream both parts below (via P4k).

U.S. tour dates are still forthcoming, but the band has confirmed an appearance as next year’s South by Southwest.

themonitor Titus Andronicus returns with new album, The Monitor

Check Out:
“Four Score and Seven (Part One)”
“Four Score and Seven (Part Two)”

The Monitor Tracklist:
01. A More Perfect Union
02. Titus Andronicus Forever
03. No Future Part Three: Escape From No Future
04. Richard II
05. A Pot in Which to Piss
06. Four Score and Seven
07. Theme From “Cheers”
08. To Old Friends and New
09. …And Ever
10. The Battle of Hampton Roads